Integral Yoga Community - On-line Groups

Guidelines to Savitri Discussions

February 29th, 1996, an on-line discussion group based on Sri Aurobindo's Savitri began. If you wish to be a part of this discussion, please send a message to:
and in the body of the message put:
Messages to the group itself should be sent to:
The moderator of the group is Jeremy Gilbert ( Please send any questions about management of the list to him directly.

We strongly recommend that you have a copy of Savitri. This work is poetic, visual and experiential as well as conceptual; the discussion will be very difficult to follow without having the text at hand.

Here are online sources for mail-order books:

Web sites:
Email: (bookstores where you can place orders)
  1. Pondicherry, Woodstock, New York
  2. Sri Aurobindo Sadhana Peetham Lodi, California
  3. Lotus Light Books, Twin Lakes, Wisconsin

Savitri: Collective Reading

As an experiment in collective consciousness at a deeper level, we have set aside two times a day when many of us will try to read Savitri. In this way we have group meditations, regardless of the distances between us.

The times are:

7 Am and 7 Pm U.S. Pacific Time [10 Am and 10 Pm Eastern Time]

Sat, Sun:
1 Pm Pacific Time [4 Pm Eastern Time].

As the discussion of each canto proceeds, we are reading ahead to prepare for the next one. (A few of the cantos are longer and will be divided into two sections.)

One week before the discussion is to begin we will send a short summary of each canto to the group.

The length of time we discuss each canto is determined by participation of the group. As long as there is active discussion we stay with that canto. If the group is quiet, we start a new canto roughly once a week.

[Main Page] [Next Page] [Search This Section]

[Home] [Index] [E-mail] [Site News] [Search Site]

Last modified on Mar 4, 1999